Dining Out for Life — An Awesome Day of Volunteering

19 May

In an effort to try and update my blog and fill in a month’s worth of posts, I will be doing my best over the next week or so to update on a daily basis about what has been going on in my life. This post covers April 24 which is nowhere near today’s date, but it’s a start.

The 24th was an interesting day. My mother and I were fortunate enough to volunteer with The Center in San Diego. They host an event called Dining Out For Life every year that supports HIV/AIDS awareness, care, etc. and one of our family friends who worked there asked for our help by cash counting.

We left the house around seven or eight in the morning and were down at The Center by eight thirty. We were quickly briefed on the event, its turnout and what we would be doing as volunteers and then off we went to count money. It was really fun and I don’t think that I’ll ever see that much fundraising activity in one room again, but it was a cool thing to do and I’m very glad that I did it. We got done around three p.m. before we headed back home to relax and have dinner.

I went and picked up my race medals around four and for $6, I am incredibly pleased with them. I can’t wait to take my other medals there in the future. Until then, though, I only have three+ weeks of blog posts to fill in for!

Leave a comment